reTREAT

Tink-ta-tink-tink
Someone heard that
Shells roll opposite ways
Shot still echoes down post rain glistened streets
Pail purple and orange street lamps
An old woman calls the police

Blood pool from head to neck and shoulders
“Go”

Freezes me with a glance
Eyes iced over
My heart restarts
Legs to the car before my body
He walks smooth
Confident
Fearless

Rental car starts with ease
As if I thought it would sputter like some stupid movie
He doesn’t wear leather gloves because they look cool
Hepatitis from knocking the wrong person’s teeth in
Calculation
Not fear

Airport is so close
Return the car
On to the next
Two planes to the same point
Perspective drawn like eighth grade art
Then again

This so quick
Like it didn’t happen
Reality suspended
Forgot how I got there
Didn’t hear the shots
Just blood on the street
Vessel lay empty

“I’m hungry”
Voice like no beginning or end
What is he saying?
Like it didn’t happen for him either

Maybe
It didn’t

Leave a comment