–ishness

devil found me playing
in the yard with my toys
told me stop
said he had something for me
thank you I replied
he held out his hand
mine in his
up on my feet

back to the woods behind my house
said to hurry
we should not wait
can’t wait
pulling me now
turn back but house is lost from the trees

darkness now
scraped my knee on the stones
slipped from his sweaty hand
eyes glow in the night
stomach hurts
please don’t

what has happened
fire in the distance
legs wobbly
hands on a tree
thorn in my palm
blood down my arm

flickers of flame
he there again waiting
show him my hand
smile on his face
points towards my belly
blood from my pants

what what what have I done
what have I done looking for fun
hooves and horns and hate and hell
flesh in this fire I can’t stand the smell
head is light I feel quite faint
this devil came to me and now I can’t wake

Leave a Reply

